Picks and Predictions for the 88th Annual Academy Awards (aka, the 2016 Oscars)

Best Picture
My prediction: Spotlight
My pick: Spotlight

Best Director
My prediction: Alejandro González Iñárritu, The Revenant
My pick: Tom McCarthy, Spotlight

Best Actor
My prediction: Leonardo DiCaprio, The Revenant
My pick: Matt Damon, The Martian

Best Actress
My prediction: Brie Larson, Room
My pick: Saoirse Ronan, Brooklyn

Best Supporting Actor
My prediction: Sylvester Stallone, Creed
My pick: Sylvester Stallone, Creed

Best Supporting Actress
My prediction: Alicia Vikander, The Danish Girl
My pick: Alicia Vikander, The Danish Girl

Best Original Screenplay
My prediction: Spotlight
My pick: Spotlight

Best Adapted Screenplay
My prediction: The Big Short
My pick: Brooklyn

Best Animated Feature
My prediction: Inside Out
My pick: Inside Out

Best Foreign Language Film
My prediction: Son of Saul
My pick: Mustang

Best Documentary (Feature)
My prediction: Amy
My pick: The Look of Silence

Best Production Design
My prediction: Mad Max: Fury Road
My pick: Mad Max: Fury Road

Best Cinematography
My prediction: The Revenant
My pick: Mad Max: Fury Road

Best Costume Design
My prediction: The Danish Girl
My pick: Cinderella

Best Film Editing
My prediction: Mad Max: Fury Road
My pick: Mad Max: Fury Road

Best Makeup and Hairstyling
My prediction: Mad Max: Fury Road
My pick: Mad Max: Fury Road

Best Original Score
My prediction: The Hateful Eight
My pick: Sicario

Best Original Song
My prediction: “Til It Happens To You” from The Hunting Ground
My pick: “Writing’s On The Wall” from Spectre

Best Documentary (Short)
My prediction: “Claude Lanzmann: Spectres of the Shoah”
My pick: N/A

Best Short Film (Animated)
My prediction: “World of Tomorrow”
My pick: N/A

Best Short Film (Live Action)
My prediction: “Day One”
My pick: N/A

Best Sound Editing
My prediction: Mad Max: Fury Road
My pick: Mad Max: Fury Road

Best Sound Mixing
My prediction: Mad Max: Fury Road
My pick: Mad Max: Fury Road

Best Visual Effects
My prediction: Star Wars: Episode VII – The Force Awakens
My pick: Mad Max: Fury Road

The 88th Annual Academy Awards airs Sunday, February 28th on ABC at 7:30 pm CST. I will be live-tweeting the show on Twitter at @markreviews

About Mark Dujsik

Film critic since 2001. Writer/editor/publisher of Mark Reviews Movies, and contributor for RogerEbert.com and Magill's Cinema Annual. Member of the Chicago Film Critics Association and the Online Film Critics Society.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

