Picks and Predictions for the 87th Annual Academy Awards (aka, the 2015 Oscars)

Best Picture
My prediction: Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)
My pick: The Grand Budapest Hotel

Best Director
My prediction: Alejandro González Iñárritu, Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)
My pick: Wes Anderson, The Grand Budapest Hotel

Best Actor
My prediction: Michael Keaton, Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)
My pick: Bradley Cooper, American Sniper

Best Actress
My prediction: Julianne Moore, Still Alice
My pick: Marion Cotillard, Two Days, One Night

Best Supporting Actor
My prediction: J.K. Simmons, Whiplash
My pick: J.K. Simmons, Whiplash

Best Supporting Actress
My prediction: Patricia Arquette, Boyhood
My pick: Patricia Arquette, Boyhood

Best Original Screenplay
My prediction: Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)
My pick: The Grand Budapest Hotel

Best Adapted Screenplay
My prediction: The Imitation Game
My pick: Whiplash

Best Animated Feature
My prediction: How to Train Your Dragon 2
My pick: The Tale of the Princess Kaguya

Best Foreign Language Film
My prediction: Ida
My pick: Timbuktu

Best Documentary (Feature)
My prediction: Virunga
My pick: Last Days in Vietnam

Best Production Design
My prediction: The Grand Budapest Hotel
My pick: The Grand Budapest Hotel

Best Cinematography
My prediction: The Grand Budapest Hotel
My pick: The Grand Budapest Hotel

Best Costume Design
My prediction: The Grand Budapest Hotel
My pick: The Grand Budapest Hotel

Best Film Editing
My prediction: Boyhood
My pick: Whiplash

Best Makeup and Hairstyling
My prediction: Guardians of the Galaxy
My pick: Guardians of the Galaxy

Best Original Score
My prediction: The Theory of Everything
My pick: Interstellar

Best Original Song
My prediction: ”Glory” from Selma
My pick: “Everything Is Awesome” from The LEGO Movie

Best Documentary (Short)
My prediction: “Crisis Hotline: Veterans Press 1”
My pick: N/A

Best Short Film (Animated)
My prediction: “Feast”
My pick: N/A

Best Short Film (Live Action)
My prediction: “The Phone Call”
My pick: N/A

Best Sound Editing
My prediction: American Sniper
My pick: Interstellar

Best Sound Mixing
My prediction: American Sniper
My pick: Whiplash

Best Visual Effects
My prediction: Dawn of the Planet of the Apes
My pick: Dawn of the Planet of the Apes

The 87th Annual Academy Awards airs tonight, Sunday, February 22nd on ABC at 7:30 pm CST. I will be live-tweeting the show on Twitter at @markreviews

About Mark Dujsik

Film critic since 2001. Writer/editor/publisher of Mark Reviews Movies, and contributor for RogerEbert.com and Magill's Cinema Annual. Member of the Chicago Film Critics Association and the Online Film Critics Society.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

