Picks and Predictions for the 86th Annual Academy Awards (aka, the 2014 Oscars)

”Image”I feel a little more confident in my predictions this year than last year, but then again, my Best Picture prediction isn’t shared by a lot of prognosticators for some reason I appear to be missing.

Best Picture
My prediction: American Hustle
My pick: 12 Years a Slave

Best Director
My prediction: Alfonso Cuarón, Gravity
My pick: Steve McQueen, 12 Years a Slave

Best Actor
My prediction: Matthew McConaughey, Dallas Buyers Club
My pick: Chiwetel Ejiofor, 12 Years a Slave

Best Actress
My prediction: Cate Blanchett, Blue Jasmine
My pick: Amy Adams, American Hustle

Best Supporting Actor
My prediction: Jared Leto, Dallas Buyers Club
My pick: Michael Fassbender, 12 Years a Slave

Best Supporting Actress
My prediction: Lupita Nyong’o, 12 Years a Slave
My pick: Jennifer Lawrence, American Hustle

Best Original Screenplay
My prediction: American Hustle
My pick: Her

Best Adapted Screenplay
My prediction: 12 Years a Slave
My pick: 12 Years a Slave

Best Animated Feature
My prediction: Frozen
My pick: The Wind Rises

Best Foreign Language Film
My prediction: The Great Beauty
My pick: N/A

Best Documentary (Feature):
My prediction: The Square
My pick: The Act of Killing

Best Production Design
My prediction: American Hustle
My pick: Her

Best Cinematography
My prediction: Gravity
My pick: Gravity

Best Costume Design
My prediction: The Great Gatsby
My pick: 12 Years a Slave

Best Film Editing
My prediction: American Hustle
My pick: 12 Years a Slave

Best Makeup and Hairstyling
My prediction: Dallas Buyers Club
My pick: Dallas Buyers Club

Best Original Score
My prediction: Philomena
My pick: Gravity

Best Original Song
My prediction: ”Let It Go” from Frozen
My pick: “Let It Go” from Frozen

Best Documentary (Short)
My prediction: “The Lady in Number 6: Music Saved My Life”
My pick: N/A

Best Short Film (Animated)
My prediction: “Possessions”
My pick: N/A

Best Short Film (Live Action)
My prediction: “The Voorman Problem”
My pick: N/A

Best Sound Editing
My prediction: Lone Survivor
My pick: Gravity

Best Sound Mixing
My prediction: Gravity
My pick: Gravity

Best Visual Effects
My prediction: Gravity
My pick: Gravity

The 86th Annual Academy Awards airs this Sunday, March 2nd on ABC at 7:00 pm CST.

I will be live-tweeting the show on Twitter at @markreviews

About Mark Dujsik

Film critic since 2001. Writer/editor/publisher of Mark Reviews Movies, and contributor for RogerEbert.com and Magill's Cinema Annual. Member of the Chicago Film Critics Association and the Online Film Critics Society.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

