Picks and Predictions for the 85th Annual Academy Awards (aka, the 2013 Oscars)

ImageI’m usually fairly confident in my predictions, but this year, I won’t think any less of you if you decide not to use my predictions in any official or unofficial capacity.  There are plenty of categories up in the air, including Best Picture, which, if momentum from other awards is to be trusted, could very well go to a film (Argo) that was not nominated for Best Director.  That would be the first time that happened in over 20 years (and when it happened, that was the first time it had happened in over 60 years).  I’m obviously skeptical of that happening.

Best Picture
My prediction: Lincoln
My pick: Beasts of the Southern Wild

Best Director
My prediction: Steven Spielberg, Lincoln
My pick: Benh Zeitlin, Beasts of the Southern Wild

Best Actor
My prediction: Daniel Day-Lewis, Lincoln
My pick: Joaquin Phoenix, The Master

Best Actress
My prediction: Jessica Chastain, Zero Dark Thirty
My pick: Jessica Chastain, Zero Dark Thirty

Best Supporting Actor
My prediction: Tommy Lee Jones, Lincoln
My pick: Philip Seymour Hoffman, The Master

Best Supporting Actress
My prediction: Anne Hathaway, Les Misérables
My pick: Anne Hathaway, Les Misérables

Best Original Screenplay
My prediction: Zero Dark Thirty
My pick: Zero Dark Thirty

Best Adapted Screenplay
My prediction: Argo
My pick: Lincoln

Best Animated Feature
My prediction: Frankenweenie
My pick: ParaNorman

Best Foreign Language Film
My prediction: Amour
My pick: N/A

Best Documentary (Feature):
My prediction: Searching for Sugar Man
My pick: Searching for Sugar Man

Best Production Design
My prediction: Les Misérables
My pick: Anna Karenina

Best Cinematography
My prediction: Life of Pi
My pick: Django Unchained

Best Costume Design
My prediction: Les Misérables
My pick: Lincoln

Best Film Editing
My prediction: Zero Dark Thirty
My pick: Zero Dark Thirty

Best Makeup and Hairstyling
My prediction: Les Misérables
My pick: Les Misérables

Best Original Score
My prediction: Life of Pi
My pick: Skyfall

Best Original Song
My prediction: “Skyfall” from Skyfall
My pick: “Skyfall” from Skyfall

Best Documentary (Short)
My prediction: “Open Heart”
My pick: N/A

Best Short Film (Animated)
My prediction: “Paperman”
My pick: N/A

Best Short Film (Live Action)
My prediction: “Asad”
My pick: N/A

Best Sound Editing
My prediction: Skyfall
My pick: Zero Dark Thirty

Best Sound Mixing
My prediction: Les Misérables
My pick: Skyfall

Best Visual Effects
My prediction: Life of Pi
My pick: Life of Pi

The 85th Annual Academy Awards airs this Sunday, February, 24th on ABC at 7:00 pm CST.

I will be live-tweeting the show on Twitter at @markreviews, much to the chagrin of my followers not watching.

Here I am talking about the nominations with Indie Outlook.

About Mark Dujsik

Film critic since 2001. Writer/editor/publisher of Mark Reviews Movies, and contributor for RogerEbert.com and Magill's Cinema Annual. Member of the Chicago Film Critics Association and the Online Film Critics Society.
This entry was posted in Awards, Movies, Oscars. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

